Surviving High School-All Over Again

High school is killing me,  all over again.

I am not sure I will survive it, again.

Our little family is having a hard time adjusting to the High School schedule and lifestyle. (Which will explain why posts have been few and far between lately.)

The 6:45 a.m. tardy bell is killing me, the homework load is overwhelming Thing 1, and the social scene (or lack thereof) is wearing on Thing 2.

I am sick of the daily fight to get the homework done, and of course I am physically and mentally wiped out by 9 p.m. (carpool is at 6:15), and Thing 1 or Thing 2 comes to us at 9:30 needing help on the hardest homework they have (Algebra), which they have put off all afternoon and night doing all sorts of other things (Facebook) before starting.  I can hardly think straight by that time of night, and neither can they. (Especially since the alarm clock goes off at 5:30 a.m.!)

I keep thinking that it will get better.  That the kiddos will get used to the fact that they don’t have hours to spend engulfed in a novel ( a novel that isn’t assigned by the English teacher),  and that they really should listen to mom and dad when we ask them to start on homework early, so that they can get to bed before midnight, and that there aren’t free hours to spend on Facebook all afternoon.

I keep thinking that they will come to realize that life is different in high school….

…and then I realize that nothing has changed.  And we find ourselves still nagging them about getting off the computer and to start the math homework, and to put down the novel and pick up that poem by Homer that must be read by tomorrow.

Maybe when they get their first set of grades, they will realize that mom and dad aren’t so stupid, and that we just may know a few things or two about surviving High School.

And maybe then, they will realize that they should listen to their parents.

But then again, who am I kidding?  These are teenagers we are talking about.

These next 4 years may just kill me…

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Leave a comment Here.